Musings on folk, Americana, country, bluegrass and newgrass

2016 IBMA Awards nominees announced

Leave a comment

The 2016 IBMA Awards nominees will be announced at 10 a.m. (CDT) on Wednesday, July 27, on Sirius XM’s Bluegrass Junction Channel 61.

From the good folks at the IBMA:

We’re so excited! We can tell you now that the so-fab Flatt Lonesome and truly exciting Sister Sadie will be playing LIVE on Sirius XM’s Bluegrass Junction Channel 61 for our IBMA Awards Nomination Announcement!

That’s right, the votes have been counted, and it’s time to announce the final nominees for the 2016 IBMA Awards. Here’s the 411:

What: The Nominee Announcement for the 2016 IBMA Awards

When: Wednesday, July 27, 2016, 10 a.m. CDT

Where: Live on Sirius XM Radio’s Bluegrass Junction, Channel 61

Plus: Live Music from Flatt Lonesome and Sister Sadie, the new Distinguished Achievement Award recipients, the 2016 Hall of Fame honorees and more!


PNC presents Wide Open Bluegrass is the urban bluegrass music festival that closes out the IBMA’s World of Bluegrass week in beautiful downtown Raleigh!  Jointly produced by the IBMA and Raleigh’s Local Organizing Committee, the festival (formerly known as FanFest), features the best in our traditional and acoustic music community. Up to half of the net proceeds support the Bluegrass Trust Fund, a non-profit organization helping bluegrass professionals in times of need. In addition to the stellar ticketed main stage, the festival now includes a FREE street festival. The 2016 festival is slated for September 30 – October 1 in Raleigh’s amazing downtown Red Hat Amphitheater.

Emerging Artist of the Year:
Band of Ruhks, The Lonely Heartstring Band, Mountain Faith, Sister Sadie, Steve Gulley & New Pinnacle, and Town Mountain.
Instrumental Group of the Year:
The Earls of Leicester, Frank Solivan & Dirty Kitchen, Punch Brothers, Sam Bush Band, and The Travelin’ McCourys.
Entertainer of the Year:
Balsam Range, Del McCoury Band, The Earls of Leicester, Flatt Lonesome, and The Gibson Brothers
Vocal Group of the Year:
Balsam Range, Doyle Lawson & Quicksilver, The Earls of Leicester, Flatt Lonesome, and The Gibson Brothers.

Song of the Year:
Black River – Sierra Hull. Long Way Down – The SteelDrivers. Radio – Steep Canyon Rangers. Thunder & Lightning – Lonesome River Band. You’re the One – Flatt Lonesome.
Album Of The Year:
Bridging the Tradition – Lonesome River Band. It’s About Tyme – Russell Moore & IIIrd Tyme Out. Runaway Train – Flatt Lonesome. The Muscle Shoals Recordings – The SteelDrivers. Weighted Mind – Sierra Hull.

Recorded Event of the Year:
Fireball by Special Consensus (Feat. Rob Ickes, Trey Hensley, and Alison Brown). Highway 40 Blues by Special Consensus with Della Mae. In The Pines by Carl Jackson and Brad Paisley. Longneck Blues by Junior disk and Ronnie Bowman. Pretty Woman by Frank Solivan and Del McCoury
Instrumental Recorded Performance of the Year:
Cazenovia Cassanova – Frank Solivan with Sam Bush and Jerry Douglas. Fireball – Special Consensus feat. Rob Ickes, Trey Hensley, and Alison Brown. Hogan’s Goat – The Boxcars. Hogan’s House of Music – Ron Block. Smartville – Ron Block.
Gospel Recorded Performance of the Year:
All Dressed Up – Joe Mullins and the Radio Ramblers. In The Heat of the Fire – Flatt Lonesome. Rocking the Cradle – Lonesome River Band. The Savior is Born – Becky Buller. Won’t You Come Sing For Me – Laurie Lewis and the Right Hands.

Vocalists of the Year Nominations
Female: Becky Buller, Dale Ann Bradley, Claire Lynch, Amanda Smith, and Rhonda Vincent
Male: Shawn Camp, Del McCoury, Buddy Melton, Tim O’Brien, and Danny Paisley.
Congratulations to everyone nominated for Vocalist of the Year

Nominations for Instrumentalists of the Year
Guitar: Bryan Sutton, Kenny Smith, Chris Eldridge, Josh Williams, and Jim Hurst
Mandolin: Jesse Brock, Sam Bush, Sierra Hull, Frank Solivan, and Adam Steffey
Dobro: Jerry Douglas, Andy Hall, Rob Ickes, Phil Leadbetter, and Josh Swift
Fiddle: Becky Buller, Jason Carter, Michael Cleveland, Stuart Duncan, and Ron Stewart
Bass: Barry Bales, Alan Bartram, Mike Bub, Missy Raines, and Mark Schatz
Banjo: Charlie Cushman, Jens Krüger, Mike Munford, Noam Pikelny, and Sammy Shelor.
Congratulations to all!!

IBMA Press Conference is live now on Bluegrass Junction. Flatt Lonesome and newly nominated Sister Sadie for Emerging Artist of the Year, perform live! Congratulations to Dale Ann Bradley for her nomination for Female Vocalist of the Year. ‪#‎IBMAAwards2016‬

An early version of The Kentucky Colonels, Eric White, Jr., Clarence White and Roland White pose with their instruments.

It was announced Wednesday, July 27, 2016, that Clarence White would be inducted into the International Bluegrass Music Hall of Fame on September 29, during the IBMA Awards Show held in Raleigh, North Carolina. Clarence White is known for his extraordinary flatpicking style of guitar and has influenced bluegrass, country, folk and rock musicians with his talent. He was killed by a drunk driver in 1973, age 29.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s